Whisky in the Jar – Lynott, Moore & Metallica

There’s nothing quite like a catchy guitar riff. I suppose all lovers of rock music have their own personal favorites. Mine is Parisienne Walkways by the late great Gary Moore.

But this tribute is not about Parisienne Walkways, but about Whisky in the Jar, one of my all-time favorite rock songs, by Thin Lizzy. Phil Lynott, the frontman for Thin Lizzy would have been 62 this month, had his genius endured. Thankfully good music survives the ravages of time and the living can still drown in the ecstasy of sound.

My preferred version of Whisky in the Jar is by Phil Lynott & Thin Lizzy, but there are at least two other versions which I’m partial to. Here’s the Thin Lizzy version:

And the Metallica version:

Perhaps the Gary Moore version does it for you:

I’ll leave it up to you to decide which is your personal choice. Whatever it is though, you can’t be wrong…

Leave a comment