More About Erik

Seems I have a lot of catching up to do on the blog. I’ve not attended to the many comments posted since I’ve been away on my mid-year break, and my sincere apologies for this. I’ll get to it all in the next day or so. I’ve all but shunned social media, including this blog for a little over two weeks.

But first, more about Erik…

We took the little Viking dude to The Barnyard in Umhlanga on the Kwa-Zulu Natal North Coast on Sunday, for a tribute to Elton John, Pink, Freddie Mercury, Tina Turner and Michael Jackson. An odd ensemble you might think, but they were awesome, especially the Jackson character who had MJ’s dance moves down to T. From past posts, you’ll know I’m a big fan of The Barnyard, but who would have guessed that Erik would dig it too.

My previous experience with two year-old’s (and older kids) at live shows have been torturous. They’re not known for sitting still and watching – running around, screaming, throwing tantrums and just making a mighty old fuss is more the norm. Not Erik!

He just sat there mesmerised for nigh on two hours, with barely a word out his mouth, sipping occasionally on his fruit juice. He was perfectly appreciative, eyes all lit up. The little Viking sure loves his music. I’ll bet he’s hooked on live performances now.

And when he gets older his Uncle Lenny is going to take him to rock concerts. So be prepared, mom and dad…