Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain

I first encountered Anthony Bourdain on one of the Food Network channels on television, while he was doing his Cooks Tour series. Riveting stuff!

So when I learnt that he’d written a few books too, I had to get my hands on at least one of them, and Kitchen Confidential – Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly turned out to be a delectable choice. I can happily report that I savoured every morsel of this tasty expose of the culinary (under)world.

Bourdain certainly pulls no punches; describing in often gory detail both the tasty and unsavoury aspects of the restaurant and culinary world which would leave you cringing in some parts, and laughing out loud in others. He goes much further in revealing some of his own nasty habits and weaknesses through 30-odd years, such as drug abuse, but he does make some revolting revelations about a few of his colleagues in the industry as well. But they all somehow manage to come off looking like decorated military veterans.

There is much food for thought (pardon the pun) in his many anecdotes, not to mention some very sound advice about things that both diners and potential chefs should avoid. While some of the revelations will leave you almost gagging, others should be of great assistance when making choices to dine out.

For the most part though it is fantastic light reading, often hilarious and produces some of the following excellent quotations:

1. To me, life without veal stock, pork fat, sausage, organ meat, demi-glace, or even stinky cheese is a life not worth living. Vegetarians are the enemy of everything good and decent in the human spirit, and affront to all I stand for, the pure enjoyment of food.

2. Like I said before, your body is not a temple, it’s an amusement park. Enjoy the ride.

3. As an art form, cooktalk is, like haiku or kabuku, defined by established rules, with a rigid, traditional framework in which one may operate. All comments must, out of historical necessity, concern involuntary rectal penetration, penis size, physical flaws or annoying mannerisms or defects.

There are many more memorable mentions in the book that will make it hard to put down. I’m looking forward to my next Anthony Bourdainesque look at the fascinating world of all things culinary.

4 thoughts on “Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain

  1. I agree that Kitchen Confidential is a funny book and held my interest from the very first page. I like Bourdain’s TV show, but in small doses. A little of him goes a long way, kind of like saffron?

    Did you know he also wrote part of the HBO series “Treme” with David Simon? There’s a whole story arc about a New Orleans chef to travels to NYC after her business in NO is destroyed by Katrina.

    I like your blog. Thank you for writing it.

  2. Hey! I just wanted to say you have a nice site :-). Me and my friends follow it for a while and we kinda like it. I don’t know if you’ve heard about us but I would like to invite you to http://www.digitalgangster.com/4um/forum.php We’re a webmaster community that love to bounce ideas, share our own sites and generally hang out and play various pranks from time to time haha. I think you would really like it. We also have helpful tools and experienced members. So if you don’t mind, why not take a little time just to drop by and introduce yourself! We’ll try not to give you a hard time ;-). I am pewep by the way. I specialize in SEO, link building, emailing, and offline work. If you need help feel free to message me. I’m usually on at night. Cheers!

  3. Just how does one make money from blogs? How does one start it or go about it? Is there a specific way to do it? Just how does one make money from blogs in the first place? Where does one get started in this? Do you have to advertise and use your credit card? Are there any certain kinds of rules you have to follow? Do you have to set the blog up yourself or are there ones that help you set up it up? How do you get advertisers on your blog? Are people limited to the number of blogs online? How often do you get paid?. . Thanks for the help!.

Leave a Reply

